Hinterspace
Hinterspace
Hinterspace Episode 12
0:00
-1:02:00

Hinterspace Episode 12

David J. Lebenstein

I recently had to start working evenings and weekends, which is the time I would use to both conduct interviews and edit this podcast, so unfortunately, I’m afraid I’ll have to scale back all my endeavors to make sure I’m not overextended. I don’t know when I’ll be able to resume normal operations again, but I wanted to thank all of you who have trusted me with your inbox! Hopefully, you’ll see my productions sooner rather than later (or not at all).

I will be sending out the occasional newsletter as I release books (the writing is still going to happen) or actually have something to say. Thanks for sticking with me!


Anything else?” Vlaris asked.

Svavapass and Sraymlat exchanged glances. “Dare we?” Svavapass asked his partner softly and in English.

“It is now or never, old chap,” Sraymlat replied.

“Before we adjourn, Agent Sraymlat and I would like to make a special request,” Svavapass began. “Especially in view of the new interest in civilian roles for the agents.”

“Yes?” Vlaris appeared interested.

“There appears to be an enormous opportunity for us,” Svavapass began. “During the Battle of Waterloo, the commanding general of British forces was in the vicinity of our regiment when the French charged our position with heavy cavalry. We “formed a square,” a standard defensive tactic against a cavalry charge. General Arthur Wellesley, the First Duke of Wellington was inside our square.”

“That was when Svavapass got these wounds,” Sraymlat interjected. “Our regiment saved the general’s life.”

“Since that time,” Svavapass continued, “the general and I…Wellington appointed me to his staff.”

“Interesting,” Vlaris commented.

“In the past, Wellington was in politics and I believe he intends to run again for a seat in Parliament. Being a war hero, it is only a matter of time until he is prime minister,” Svavapass continued.

“And Svavapass, that is, Major Weatherby could become one of his aides,” Sraymlat added.

“Yes, an excellent intelligence opportunity,” Vlaris agreed.

“There is more,” Svavapass said. “King George III is old and infirm. His son is his regent and successor. But the crown prince has no legitimate sons. His only heir is Princess Charlotte, a young lady more interested in music than statecraft. She will still be young when she ascends to the throne. That is projected to occur in about ten to fifteen years.”

“Right about the time when Wellington will become prime minister,” Sraymlat interjected.

“No doubt, the young queen will need some sort of assistance…”

“Wellington would be more than influential,” the excited Sraymlat interrupted again.

“And Svavapass would be in his inner circle gathering intelligence on the most important nation on the planet,” Vlaris concluded. “I will discuss this with the Subdirector. This is aligned with her strategy for Earth 48.”

“And who knows?” Svavapass commented. “I could even influence him here and there to accelerate the progress and development of the planet.”

“Is that legal?” Lorbank gasped. “Given the regulations against intervention in the development of other planets…”

“We are only allowed to observe the course of events, not change them,” Metchavork agreed. “Sent to watch but not to affect.”

“It wouldn’t really be interference,” Svavapass explained. “Just a little influence. The natives would be doing everything themselves.”

“I am not sure I could approve even a little influence,” Vlaris explained. “The rules are very explicit on that matter. Remember Earth 5.”

“But this is different,” Sraymlat protested. “It would not be interference. Just a little nudge…”

“No, I cannot allow that,” Vlaris declared.

“Could you at least bring it up to the director?” Sraymlat asked.

“I suppose, but…” Vlaris paused. “Years ago, when I was a field agent on Earth 48, I was posing as a Frenchman, a diplomat. I spent a considerable portion of my time in that native settlement called Vienna. As part of my assignment to study alien culture, I used to frequent the concert halls. There was a young native musician there at that time who composed the most excellent music. Whenever he was performing, I made it my business to attend the concert. And, of course, it enhanced my cover as a diplomat.

“Then one day, I heard that the musician was seriously ill. From what I could gather, it was an infection, and you know the primitive medical practices down there.”

“And you had your Service-issue medical kit, and the means to save his life…” Sraymlat surmised.

“Yes,” Vlaris continued. “I never told anyone this before, but I went to his dwelling with a small antibiotic pill. I contemplated going up to visit him, putting it in a cup of water and giving it to him to drink.”

“So, did you?” Vlaytork asked.

Vlaris bit his lip. “I stood there outside his dwelling torn between two choices. I remember it being cold. It was very cold. But I could not do it. I remembered the Noninterference Protocol and turned around and went to my hotel. He died three days later.”

Vlaris cleared his throat. “On my next trip to Vienna, there was a performance of one of his compositions—the aliens have an intricate and elaborate musical art form called the ‘symphony’—and he had written three more in his final days. The performance was one of those last three, Symphony Number 40. I can never forget that beautiful music.”

Tears were forming in the team leader’s eyes. His voice became softer. “It was the most beautiful… If only I could have…”

Vlaris choked up. The agents sat in tense patience as Vlaris composed himself.

Then the team leader barked gruffly, “We are only there to observe. Remember our motto. We are ‘sent to watch but not to affect.’ Any kind of influence is against the rules!”

Get this book!

"Sent to watch, but not to affect"-such is the Noninterference Protocol that binds all of the agents in the Interplanetary Intelligence Service whose mission is to infiltrate leading nations on primitive planets to help the Confederation of Civilized Planets determine when a world is ready to be formally contacted and offered membership in the Confederation.

Unni Vlaytork and her two fellow agents, Ori Svavapass and Urelt Sraymlat, are assigned to a faction on "Earth 48" known as the British Empire during the Regency of Prince George. They find themselves at odds with their agency's Noninterference Protocol when a cruel and aggressive starfaring empire is discovered in another part of the galaxy.

The agents conceive a plan to accelerate the technical development of the planet, hoping to have Earth 48 admitted to the Confederation before the invaders arrive. Two of the agents are to marry, have a son, and groom him to be a future prime minister who would carry out the necessary reforms. The success of the plan hinges on hiding this apparent violation of the Noninterference Protocol from an inflexible superior officer.

But there is another complication: both Ori and Urelt are in love with Unni.

0 Comments
Hinterspace
Hinterspace
Ranging in topics from AI in publishing to the viability of monarchies and the mechanics of astronavigation, Hinterspace is a SFF podcast for authors who want to bring clean, non-woke science fiction and fantasy to readers. Not your average author podcast.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Page Zaplendam